16th International Conference on Evaluation
& Assessment in Software Engineering (EASE 2012)

Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha - Ciudad Real - Spain - 14th-15th May, 2012

Call for Papers

EASE is ranked as “A” in the Excellence in Research for
Australia (ERA) journal & conference rankings


Dates: Monday 14 May and Tuesday 15 May 2012

Venue: Escuela Superior de Informática (Ciudad Real), University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

URL: http://alarcos.esi.uclm.es/ease2012

Keynote Speakers

Professor Dieter Rombach, University of Kaiserslautern, Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering (Fraunhofer IESE), Germany.
Keynote´s title: “Empirical Models: Towards a Science of Software Engineering”.

Professor Helen Sharp, The Open University, UK.
Keynote´s title: “Ethnographic studies in Software Engineering”.

For over fifteen years the International Conference on Evaluation & Assessment in Software Engineering has provided a forum where empirical researchers can present their latest research, and where issues related to all forms of empirical and evaluation studies in software engineering can be discussed. The EASE tradition is one of providing a workshop-like atmosphere, in which papers can be presented with time for constructive discussion of their results and processes. We plan to continue with this format for the conference in 2012.
The theme of EASE 2012 will be “Empirical Grand Challenges for Agile Development”; however, we continue to welcome papers on any aspect of product and process evaluation and assessment, qualitative and quantitative.

Topics encompass any relevant aspect of empirical studies of software engineering, and include, but are not limited to, the following:
• Experiments (laboratory and field)
• Replications of empirical studies
• Case studies
• Surveys
• Observational studies
• Field studies
• Action research
• Methodological issues and practices
• Systematic reviews, mapping studies and meta-analysis
We seek two types of submissions: Full and short papers.

Full papers. Full papers should be no longer than 10 pages in length.
Short papers. Short Papers should be no more than 5 pages in length. Their goal is to promote current work, research, practices, experiences, and issues that are not at a mature stage yet to be submitted as full papers.
All papers will be included in the Proceedings, which will be published and indexed by the IET.

Formatting guidelines for papers can be found at:

All submissions will be handled using the EasyChair system, available at:

Key dates

20th January 2012 25th January 2012: Full papers abstract submission (EXTENDED DEADLINE)
25th January 2012 3rd February 2012: Full Papers submission (EXTENDED DEADLINE)
4th March 2012: Notification of full papers outcome


11th March 2012: Short Papers submission
29th March 2012: Notification of short papers outcome
25th March 2012: Camera Ready full papers
5th April 2012: Camera Ready short papers

Further details about dates and submission arrangements will be provided on the EASE web site.

Journal Special Section

Authors of the best papers will be invited to submit extended versions for a special section of the Information and Software Technology Journal. More information about the journal can be found here:

The Venue

Ciudad Real (which means ‘Royal City’ in Spanish) is a city located in the Southern Central part of Spain, in the region of Castilla-La Mancha, which is the “Don Quixote” region. It is perfectly located for transport connections, as it is only 1 hour away from the main cities of Spain: Madrid (1 hr by high speed train) and Barcelona (less than 1 hour by plane).
It is a modern city, one of the very few in Spain where you can forget your problems and have time to enjoy yourself. Ciudad Real’s citizens love the outdoors, enjoying the weather and people. Their hospitality and open mindedness make visiting this city an experience that nobody should miss.

General Chair
Mario Piattini (University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain)
Program Co-Chairs
Marcela Genero (University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain)
Emilia Mendes (Zayed University, United Arab Emirates)
Short-papers Chair
Teresa Baldasarre (University of Bari, Italy)
Organizing Chair
José A. Cruz-Lemus (University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain)
Publicity Chair
Ismael Caballero (University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain)

Program Committee (to be completed)

Pekka Abrahamsson, University of Helsinki, Finland
Silvia Abrahao, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain
Muhammad Ali Babar, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Teresa Baldassarre, University of Bari, Italy
Sarah Beecham, Lero, Ireland
Stefan Biffl, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Pearl Brereton, Keele University, UK
David Budgen, University of Durham, UK
Danilo Caivano, University of Bari, Italy
Jeffrey Carver, University of Alabama, USA
Cagatay Catal, Istanbul Kultur University, Turkey
Stuart Charters, Lincoln University, New Zealand
Marcus Ciolkowski, QAware GmbH, Germany
Steve Counsell, Brunel University, UK
Karl Cox, University of Brighton, UK
Jose A. Cruz-Lemus, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Daniela Cruzes, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Fabio Q. B. Da Silva, Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil
Oscar Dieste, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Tore Dybå, SINTEF and Univ. of Oslo, Norway
Davide Falessi Simula Research Laboratory (Norway) and University of Rome Tor Vergata (Italy)
Filomena Ferrucci, University of Salerno, Italy
Felix Garcia, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Marcela Genero, University of Castilla La Mancha, Spain
Tony Gorschek, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
Tracy Hall, Brunel University, UK
Rachel Harrison, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Martin Höst, Lund University, Sweden
Andreas Jedlitschka, IESE Fraunhofer, Germany
Magne Jørgensen, Simula Research, Norway
Natalia Juristo, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
Barbara Kitchenham, Keele University, UK
Stephen Linkman, Keele University, UK
Stephen Macdonell, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
Emilia Mendes, Zayed University, United Arab Emirates
Sandro Morasca, University of Insubria, Italy
Maurizio Morisio, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Juergen Muench, University of Helsinki, Finland
Matthias Müller, IDOS Software AG, Germany
Mahmood Niazi, Keele University, UK/ KFUPM Saudi Arabia
Dietmar Pfahl, Lund University, Sweden
Guenther Ruhe, University of Calgary, Canada
Per Runeson, Lund University, Sweden
Giuseppe Scanniello, University of Basilicata, Italy
Helen Sharp, The Open University, UK
Martin Shepperd, Brunel University, UK
Dag Sjøberg, University of Oslo, Norway
Mikael Svahnberg, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
Ewan Tempero, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Marco Torchiano, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Guilherme Horta Travassos, COPPE/UFRJ, Brazil
Mark Turner, Keele University, UK
June Verner, Keele University, UK
Giuseppe Visaggio, University of Bari, Italy
Aurora Vizcaíno, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Stefan Wagner, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Dietmar Winkler, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Murray Wood, Strathclyde University, UK
Phillip Woodall, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Download call for papers flyer

Please click here to download the call for papers as a PDF file.

Alarcos Reasearch Group

Alarcos Reasearch Group

Escuela Superior de Informática (Ciudad Real)

Paseo de la Universidad, 4

13071 Ciudad Real

Escuela Superior de Informática (C.Real)

 *Site optimized for a resolution of 1280x1024 and the following browsers: IE 8.0, Firefox 7.0 and Chrome 14.0